OTF Special Recognition Award


For contributions to publicly funded education 



The OTF Special Recognition Award is presented annually to an organization, group or individual in acknowledgement of outstanding contributions to publicly funded education in Ontario, beyond the school board level.


Click here for award criteria.

Nominations are open. Click on nominationform to complete your nomination.

Deadline: March 31, 2022

Have questions? Email specialrecognition@otffeo.on.ca.


Ontario Music Educators’ Association receives 2021 OTF Special Recognition Award

The Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF) is pleased to announce that the Ontario Music Educators’ Association (OMEA) is the 2021 recipient of the OTF Special Recognition Award. This award, established in 2020, is presented annually to an organization, group or individual to acknowledge outstanding contributions to publicly funded education in Ontario, beyond the school board level.

“The excellence of Ontario’s publicly funded education system is supported and enhanced by many individuals and groups who are external to Ontario’s school boards,” states Chris Cowley, OTF President. “OTF is very pleased to recognize the contributions made by OMEA for over 100 years supporting the work of Ontario’s music educators.”

Due to ongoing pandemic restrictions, OTF will recognize OMEA with the presentation of this award at the Spring Board of Governors’ meeting in April 2022.